In each of the provinces the King is represented by a Lieutenant-Governor, appointed by the Governor-General in Council, and governing with the advice and assistance of his Ministry or Executive Council, which is responsible to the Legislature and resigns office when it ceases to enjoy the confidence of that body. The Legislatures of all the provinces with the exception of Quebec and Nova Scotia are uni-cameral, consisting of a Legislative Assembly elected by the people. In Quebec and Nova Scotia there is a Legislative Council as well as a Legislative Assembly. For a detailed description of the Provincial Governments, the reader is referred to pp. 101-115 of the 1922-23 edition of the Year Book.

The Lieutenant-Governors of the provinces, together with the names of the Ministers of the present administrations, are given in Table 9. Details regarding Provincial Legislatures and Ministries since Confederation were given on pp. 75-84 of the 1924 Year Book.

9.—Lieutenant-Governors of Provinces, 1867-1926, and present Ministries. PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND.

| LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS. | | | | | |
|---|--|---|---|--|--|
| Name. | Date of Appointment, | Name. | Date of Appointment. | | |
| W. C. F. Robinson. Sir Robert Hodgson. Thomas H. Haviland. Andrew Archibald Maedonald. Iedediah S. Carvell Geo. W. Howlan. | Nov. 22, 1873 July 14, 1879 Aug. 1, 1884 Sept. 21, 1889 | P. A. MacIntyre D. A. McKinnon Benjamin Rogers. A. C. Macdonald. Murdock McKinnon. Frank R. Heartz | Oct. 3, 1904 June 1, 1910 June 2, 1915 Sept. 3, 1919 | | |

FOURTEENTH MINISTRY.

| Office. | Name. | Date of Appointment, |
|--|--|--|
| Premier, President of the Council, and Attorney- and Advocate-General Provincial Secretary-Treasurer and Minister of Agricultura Minister of Public Works. Minister without Portfolio. Minister without Portfolio. Minister without Portfolio. Minister without Portfolio. Minister without Portfolio. Minister without Portfolio. | Hon. J. D. Stewart. Hon. J. H. Myers. Hon. H. F. McPhee. Hon. J. A. McNeill Hon. Murdock Kennedy. Hon. L. J. Wood. Hon. W. J. P. McMillan. Hon. A. F. Areenauk. | Sept. 5, 1923 Sept. 5, 1923 Sept. 5, 1923 Sept. 5, 1923 Sept. 5, 1923 Sept. 5, 1923 |

NOVA SCOTIA.

LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS.

| Name. | Date of Appointment. | Name. | Date of Appointment. |
|---|---|--|---|
| LieutGen. Sir W. F. Williams Major-Gen. Sir C. Hastings Doyle LieutGen. Sir C. Hastings Doyle Sir E. Kenny (acting). Joseph Howe. A. G. Archibald Matthew Henry Richey A. W. McLelan Malachy Bowes Daly | Oct. 18, 1867 Jan. 31, 1868 May 31, 1870 May 1, 1873 July 4, 1873 July 4, 1873 July 9, 1898 | Malachy Bowes Daly Alfred G. Jones Duncan C. Frager James D. MacGregor David MacKeen McCallum Grant McCallum Grant J. Robson Douglas James C. Tory | Aug. 7, 1900 Mar. 27, 1906 Oct. 18, 1910 Oct. 19, 1915 Nov. 29, 1916 Mar. 21, 1922 ¹ Jan. 23, 1925 |

1 Second term.